Artist Of The Week - Anchor & Braille

It's been about three years since we've gotten an album from Anchor & Braille, the indie side project of Anberlin's Stephen Christian, but this week, on July 31st, the band's sophomore album will be released. The Quiet Life is a collection of haunting melodies and catchy percussion, certainly a maturation of sound since 2009's Felt. The Quiet Life is available now in stores and online through Tooth & Nail Records.


Christian Rock Rocks - Copyright 2012. Powered by Blogger.

Follow CRR on Twitter

Follow empmag on Twitter


Like CRR on Facebook


Artist: A Bullet For Pretty Boy
Album: Revision:Revise
Release Date: 11/9/10
Label: Artery Recordings

With only one prior EP under their belt, the Texas-based A Bullet For Pretty Boy are making a splash into the metal scene with their debut full length effort, Revision:Revise. Moving away from their prior ambient hardcore sound, they have replaced it with a catchy metalcore sound, not too far away from the likes of The Devil Wears Prada and perhaps a bit better, and full of brutal screams and some great clean vocals to accompany them. Also, there are many great orchestrated sections as well that only add to the sound that A Bullet For Pretty Boy have to offer on the album.

The starting track, "The Deceiver," does exactly what an opener should do, which is to represent what's in store upon further listen into the album. Full of quick double-bass, heavy riffs, perfectly placed clean vocals, and a brutal breakdown, that proclaims "Oh God, take what is left of me," the track stands out on the album as a highlight. Songs such as "Only Time Will Tell" and "Tides" really show off the clean vocals on the album, which are done to a good extent, but do reach a near whiny point at times, which are then taken over by screams and an attack of instrumentation. The most unique song on Revision:Revise is "Windows," which besides many of the previous mentioned elements the album holds in store, also sports some interesting electronic effects and samples throughout, adding a lot of depth to the track. "I Will Destroy the Wisdom of the Wise" ends the album, which starts off a bit slower, and is for the most part song, until the song resorts to screaming to close it out.

Lyrically, A Bullet For Pretty Boy have a lot to offer, not at all covering up their faith, which shows strongly throughout the uplifting lyrics on Revision:Revise. For me, the only downfall of the album was that some of the tracks seemed very similar, not showing much variation, but were backed by an array of strong songs as well.

Rating: 7/10 A Bullet For Pretty Boy have gotten off to a good start with their solid Artery Recordings debut, Revision:Revise. Throughout the album, listeners find a good variety of clean vocals, muscular riffs and screamed verses and breakdowns, thrown in with positive lyrics that undoubtedly show their faith. Besides a few songs sounding similar, I expect to see some big things come out of this band.

  1. The Deceiver
  2. Revision:Revise
  3. Decisions
  4. Patterns
  5. Only Time Will Tell
  6. Voices & Vessels
  7. Tides
  8. Windows
  9. Vita Nova
  10. I Will Destroy the Wisdom of the Wise
(Buy Here)

About the Author

Ali Bajwa
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Facebook dolor quam, pretium eu placerat eu, semper et nunc. Nullam ut turpis dictum, luctus mi quis, luctus lorem. Nullam porttitor consectetur nunc in tempor!

Related Posts