Artist Of The Week - Anchor & Braille

It's been about three years since we've gotten an album from Anchor & Braille, the indie side project of Anberlin's Stephen Christian, but this week, on July 31st, the band's sophomore album will be released. The Quiet Life is a collection of haunting melodies and catchy percussion, certainly a maturation of sound since 2009's Felt. The Quiet Life is available now in stores and online through Tooth & Nail Records.


Christian Rock Rocks - Copyright 2012. Powered by Blogger.

Follow CRR on Twitter

Follow empmag on Twitter


Like CRR on Facebook

Suburba [+digital booklet]

Artist: House of Heroes
Album: Suburba
Release Date: 8/3/10
Label: Gotee Records

Nearly two years ago, a band named House of Heroes graced the whole Christian music scene with their hard hitting album The End Is Not The End. Critics and fans alike were all certainly pleased and it was not hard to see why. Now, House of Heroes are back with their new album Suburba, that certainly fulfils the expectations to follow up an album as big as The End Is Not The End in high style. This time around however, the inspiration behind the album is American themed, talking about the life of a teenager. Some of the songs certainly have more of an upbeat rock tone to them, but as a whole, Suburba is full of infectious harmonies sure to capture the listener.

The opening sounds of "Relentless" capture the energy and precision of Suburba, certainly setting the tone just right. "Elevator" shows off the rock sense heavily, along with the line "This elevator goes straight to the top of the line" that is sure to get stuck in your head. The high energy "Love Is For The Middle Class" tells a story of love, which is followed by "So Far Away" that serves as an anthem. "God Save The Foolish Kings" follows in the same sense, which features guest vocals from the talent of label mate Stephanie Smith.

The softer acoustic sound that House of Heroes have also grasped well is not forgotten, with "Salt In The Sea" serving that purpose. Immediately kicking back into full gear is the witty "Independence Day For A Petty Thief," yet another upbeat rocker. A full chorus sound proclaiming "I want the truth" is showcased on "Somebody Knows," which seems to follow the same lyrical theme as it's predecessor, continuing the story of a robbery and getting turned in. The mysterious atmosphere set on "Disappear" is nearly haunting, but also has a feel of a few of the songs found on The End Is Not The End. Another love song is found on "She Mighty Mighty," containing a heavy bass line that sets a groove, intertwining with the expertise guitar work.

The ballad "Constant" found on Suburba is pulled off perfectly, in fact one of the album's highest points. The lyrics hit straight to the heart and are very honest at that. The closer "Burn Me Down" turns up the energy and cranks up the guitars, that are played with a crunch. Tim Skipper's soaring vocals are great on the song, the perfect closer for a perfect album.

Rating: 10/10 Without a doubt, House of Heroes have delivered excellently again with their new album Suburba. No doubt is this the album of the summer, House of Heroes have followed up The End Is Not The End perfectly. From the opening sounds of "Relentless" to the closing guitar work of "Burn Me Down," Suburba contains something for everyone, guaranteed not to disappoint.

  1. Relentless
  2. Elevator
  3. Love Is For The Middle Class
  4. So Far Away
  5. God Save The Foolish Kings
  6. Salt In The Sea
  7. Independence Day For A Petty Thief
  8. Somebody Knows
  9. Disappear
  10. She Mighty Mighty
  11. Constant
  12. Burn Me Down
(Buy Here)

About the Author

Ali Bajwa
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Facebook dolor quam, pretium eu placerat eu, semper et nunc. Nullam ut turpis dictum, luctus mi quis, luctus lorem. Nullam porttitor consectetur nunc in tempor!

Related Posts

1 comment:

  1. This album is so awesome! It surpasses The End Is Not The End imo and is most likely an album of the year contender.