Artist Of The Week - Anchor & Braille

It's been about three years since we've gotten an album from Anchor & Braille, the indie side project of Anberlin's Stephen Christian, but this week, on July 31st, the band's sophomore album will be released. The Quiet Life is a collection of haunting melodies and catchy percussion, certainly a maturation of sound since 2009's Felt. The Quiet Life is available now in stores and online through Tooth & Nail Records.


Christian Rock Rocks - Copyright 2012. Powered by Blogger.

Follow CRR on Twitter

Follow empmag on Twitter


Like CRR on Facebook

The Agreement

Artist: Lakes
Album: The Agreement
Release Date: 9/3/10
Label: Independent

The unfortunate thing about independent artists are that many will go undiscovered, along with any talent that they have. Hopefully, Lakes will not be one to go unnoticed, as they certainly deserve the attention with their long awaited full length record, The Agreement. The album is a collection of warm indie rock songs, with a pop rock sensibility at times. The band is fronted by Seth Roberts, formerly of Watashi Wa, whose vocals flow with the instrumentation just right.

"Broadlyn" and "The Heart Is An Anchor" start off The Agreement, showing off their talent right away. They are a good representation of the album as a whole. "Oh Lovely" is a piano-driven tune that serves as a nice love song. The darker rocker "Loose Fix" feels nearly a bit out of place, not being as upbeat as some of the other songs that have a lighter feeling to them. My favorite track on the album comes with "Lifting Me Up," which states "When life looses meaning, when it's hard to keep breathing, You keep lifting me up." "The Agreement Song" follows and is a very simplistic song, that is succeeded by the closer "I Was There." It ends The Agreement on rather good terms, with a driving guitar thrown in to close the song.

Rating: 8/10 Lakes have marked their territory in the indie scene with The Agreement. An album full of warm, accessible indie rock, Lakes have started it off well with their debut full length effort.

  1. Broadlyn
  2. The Heart Is An Anchor
  3. Oh Lovely
  4. The Ghost and the Man
  5. The Feeling
  6. Back In Your Head
  7. Sweet Dream
  8. Loose Fix
  9. The Tree
  10. When We Were Younger
  11. It's You It's Me
  12. Lifting Me Up
  13. The Agreement Song
  14. I Was There
(Buy Here)

About the Author

Ali Bajwa
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Facebook dolor quam, pretium eu placerat eu, semper et nunc. Nullam ut turpis dictum, luctus mi quis, luctus lorem. Nullam porttitor consectetur nunc in tempor!

Related Posts