Artist Of The Week - Anchor & Braille

It's been about three years since we've gotten an album from Anchor & Braille, the indie side project of Anberlin's Stephen Christian, but this week, on July 31st, the band's sophomore album will be released. The Quiet Life is a collection of haunting melodies and catchy percussion, certainly a maturation of sound since 2009's Felt. The Quiet Life is available now in stores and online through Tooth & Nail Records.


Christian Rock Rocks - Copyright 2012. Powered by Blogger.

Follow CRR on Twitter

Follow empmag on Twitter


Like CRR on Facebook

Horseshoes & Handgrenades

Artist: Disciple
Album: Horseshoes & Handgrenades
Release Date: 9/14/10
Label: INO Records

I honestly find the genre of hard rock rather overrated and repetitive, with only a few exceptions. However, I must say that I was surprised when I first listened to the new album Horseshoes & Handgrenades from four-piece hard rockers Disciple. I was not a fan of their previous album, Southern Hospitality, but the tides have turned with their new album.  Much more polished off, and heavy, Horseshoes & Handgrenades is easily Disciple's best work to date.

Horseshoes & Handgrenades starts off with "Dear X (You Don't Own Me)," the album's first single, which contains a a nice string section, contrasted by guitars for the chorus. The song talks of letting go of our past and not letting it hold us down. A few tracks later come my personal favorites, "The Ballad of St. Augustine" and "Shot Heard 'Round The World." The first of the two may be deceiving from its title, as the song is no ballad. It progresses from a single snare that gives a battle march tone, to gritty guitars and near breakdowns. "Shot Heard 'Round The World" is a bit heavier, and contains some growls from vocalist Kevin Young that can be heard backing his already near-screamed vocals in the chorus.

"Battle Lines" is full of crunchy guitars and yelled vocals, followed by "Remedy," which starts off with an acoustic guitar that progresses into a very polished ballad-like song about how God is our remedy. "Eternity" continues the album, as another ballad. It was initially written as the continuation to their past hit, "Things Left Unsaid," which I found interesting for Disciple to do. The closer "Worth The Pain" ends the album very well lyrically, with a message of hope, something that we all need to hear.

Rating: 8/10 Disciple have returned with their new album, Horseshoes & Handgrenades, a big step up from their previous album Southern Hospitality. The album is filled with some gritty, fist pumping rockers, but a few slower ballads that fit appropriately. Horseshoes & Handgrenades is no doubt Disciple's best album to date, and is a hard rock album that doesn't disappoint.

  1. Dear X (You Don't Own Me)
  2. Watch It Burn
  3. Invisible
  4. The Ballad of St. Augustine
  5. Shot Heard 'Round The World
  6. Collision
  7. Battle Lines
  8. Remedy
  9. Eternity
  10. Revolution: Now
  11. Deafening
  12. Worth The Pain
(Buy Here)

About the Author

Ali Bajwa
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Facebook dolor quam, pretium eu placerat eu, semper et nunc. Nullam ut turpis dictum, luctus mi quis, luctus lorem. Nullam porttitor consectetur nunc in tempor!

Related Posts

1 comment:

  1. Good review! I cannot get enough of this album! "Deafening" and "Worth The Pain" were my top favorites from the album. So good!