Artist Of The Week - Anchor & Braille

It's been about three years since we've gotten an album from Anchor & Braille, the indie side project of Anberlin's Stephen Christian, but this week, on July 31st, the band's sophomore album will be released. The Quiet Life is a collection of haunting melodies and catchy percussion, certainly a maturation of sound since 2009's Felt. The Quiet Life is available now in stores and online through Tooth & Nail Records.


Christian Rock Rocks - Copyright 2012. Powered by Blogger.

Follow CRR on Twitter

Follow empmag on Twitter


Like CRR on Facebook

Artist: Various Artists
Album: Happy Christmas Volume 5
Release Date: 9/28/10
Label: Tooth & Nail Records

It's that time of year again. You know, that time where the fall comes around and all the Christmas music releases? Well, it's here and we have Happy Christmas Vol. 5 to show for it. Composed of an array of various artists off of the Tooth & Nail Records roster, this sentimental release has something for everyone, from metal to piano driven tunes.

The album starts out with Hawk Nelson's fun pop punk rendition of "The Chipmunk Song (Christmas Don't Be Late)," which is yes, from Alvin and the Chipmunks. Following up is a new original from Demon Hunter, entitled "The Wind." The song is very dark and only contains clean vocals from Ryan Clark, but is no doubt a pleasure to listen to from Demon Hunter. Ivoryline's version of the classic "O, Holy Night" is a perfect selection to go with the band's high energy alternative rock.

Thousand Foot Krutch and their side project, FM Static, each throw in a song to the project, choosing "Heat Miser" and "Snow Miser." TFK do a hard rock styled "Heat Miser," actually a bit heavier than I would have expected on a Christmas album, with FM Static doing a much more slowed down version of "Snow Miser," with a nice string section that fits the mood. August Burns Red have their metal instrumental of "O Come O Come Emmanuel" that released last year included as well.

Another on the album comes from a new Emery original , which is the worshipful, acoustic-driven "Jesus Gave Us Christmas." Family Force 5 have an original from their Christmas Pageant album that released last year, titled "It's Christmas Day," much different from anything the band has done on prior albums. Bon Voyage makes an appearance as well, with her quirky version of "The Little Christmas Tree."

Progressive act Sent By Ravens put an nice touch on the album with "Happy Christmas (War Is Over)," that was a surprise to listen to, as it doesn't relate much to the band's sound. Dance rockers Queens Club include a darker, bass-heavy rendition of "You're A Mean One Mr. Grinch," followed by the 80s style rock of Neon Horse, who perform the older song "Zat You Santa Clause."

The album draws to a close with acoustic folk group Surrogate laying down "Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree," followed by the closer, the piano layered "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas," from Copeland. It closes Happy Christmas on a slower note, ending the near perfect Christmas project.

Rating: 9/10 Usually, Christmas albums don't have this much hype on them, but the newest addition to the Happy Christmas series is something to get excited about. A Christmas album with something for everyone included, this is the one Christmas album that you need to pick up.

  1. The Chipmunk Song (Christmas Don't Be Late)
  2. The Wind
  3. O, Holy Night
  4. Heat Miser
  5. O Come O Come Emmanuel
  6. Jesus Gave Us Christmas
  7. It's Christmas Day
  8. The Little Christmas Tree
  9. Happy Christmas (War Is Over)
  10. You're A Mean One Mr. Grinch
  11. Zat You Santa Clause
  12. Snow Miser
  13. Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree
  14. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
(Buy Here)

About the Author

Ali Bajwa
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Facebook dolor quam, pretium eu placerat eu, semper et nunc. Nullam ut turpis dictum, luctus mi quis, luctus lorem. Nullam porttitor consectetur nunc in tempor!

Related Posts