Artist Of The Week - Anchor & Braille

It's been about three years since we've gotten an album from Anchor & Braille, the indie side project of Anberlin's Stephen Christian, but this week, on July 31st, the band's sophomore album will be released. The Quiet Life is a collection of haunting melodies and catchy percussion, certainly a maturation of sound since 2009's Felt. The Quiet Life is available now in stores and online through Tooth & Nail Records.


Christian Rock Rocks - Copyright 2012. Powered by Blogger.

Follow CRR on Twitter

Follow empmag on Twitter


Like CRR on Facebook

Zappin (The Best Of) [+digital booklet]

Artist: John Reuben
Album: Zappin
Release Date: 9/14/10
Label: Gotee Records

I'd have to say that most of the time, greatest hits albums can come off a bit unnecessary, but Zappin from John Reuben has pulled it off rather nicely. An 18 track collection of songs spanning Reuben's ten year career thus far, this album chronicles his musical journey well, from his early days as a fresh face in Christian hip-hop, to his more experimental, alternative sound that he currently resides in, that still does contain some rhythmic beats thrown in here and there.

Some of the opening tracks, such as "Him Her He She" and "Do Not" are from Reuben's debut album, Are We There Yet?, and have more of a fun hip-hop flavor, which is considerably different from his more recent works on Sex, Drugs and Self-Control which released not even a year ago. There are also a few tracks from that album on Zappin as well, being three of the album's singles, "No Be Nah," "Town Folk" and "Jamboree." These three tracks are a good representation of what to expect from John Reuben and his current sound.

Another three interesting tracks would be "Nuisance," "Life Is Short" and "Out of Control." The first track of those, "Nuisance," may be John Reuben's biggest song to date, containing an alternative sound and guest vocals from Matthew Thiessen of Relient K. "Life Is Short" adds vocals from tobyMac, whose influence on the song certainly shows. One of my favorites from John Reuben is also included, with "Out of Control." Tim Skipper of House of Heroes takes a turn on vocals for the song's chorus, adding an eerie depth.

Not forgotten are tracks like "Hindsight" that has a message that really makes you think. The banjo-laden, witty "Make Money Money" is filled with an interesting beat as well. To top off Zappin, the packaging also allows you to download all ten of John Reuben's music videos from over the years as well.

Rating: 7/10 If you're new to John Reuben, this greatest hits album Zappin would be a good introduction to his music. A very well chosen selection of songs spanning Reuben's career is a good way to define this album.

  1. Him Her He She
  2. Do Not
  3. Doin'
  4. Make Money Money
  5. Nuisance (ft. Matthew Thiessen of Relient K)
  6. Move
  7. No Be Nah
  8. Gather In
  9. Hindsight
  10. All I Have
  11. Word Of Mouth
  12. Town Folk
  13. Divine Inspiration
  14. Life Is Short (ft. tobyMac)
  15. Out of Control (ft. Tim Skipper of House of Heroes)
  16. Jamboree
  17. Thank You
  18. Good Evening
(Buy Here)

About the Author

Ali Bajwa
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Facebook dolor quam, pretium eu placerat eu, semper et nunc. Nullam ut turpis dictum, luctus mi quis, luctus lorem. Nullam porttitor consectetur nunc in tempor!

Related Posts