Artist Of The Week - Anchor & Braille

It's been about three years since we've gotten an album from Anchor & Braille, the indie side project of Anberlin's Stephen Christian, but this week, on July 31st, the band's sophomore album will be released. The Quiet Life is a collection of haunting melodies and catchy percussion, certainly a maturation of sound since 2009's Felt. The Quiet Life is available now in stores and online through Tooth & Nail Records.


Christian Rock Rocks - Copyright 2012. Powered by Blogger.

Follow CRR on Twitter

Follow empmag on Twitter


Like CRR on Facebook


Artist: Lecrae
Album: Rehab
Release Date: 9/28/10
Label: Reach Records

Over the past few years, Reach Records have been doing big things in the Christian rap and hip hop realms. The driving force behind them has been Lecrae, and on his fourth album, Rehab, we hear Lecrae at his best. From the redemptive, Spirit-filled lyrics to the flowing beats, the biggest factor of Rehab is the message about God changing our lives and us keeping our eyes on Him.

The beginning of the journey of Rehab starts with "Check In," which prepares us for what is to come on further listen. "Killa" covers the topics of lust and temptation that come at us daily, and "Divine Intervention" talks of nothing mattering except Christ, and giving Him our lives. The simplistic, yet hard hitting "Just Like You" is one of Rehab's many highlights, with lyrics such as "They say You came for the lame, I'm the lamest, I made a mess, You say You'll erase it, I'll take it." "Gotta Know" is another mellow song, that precedes the highly catchy "Used To Do It Too," which features Reach's newest artist, KB, and looks back on a sinful past, before being remade by Jesus.

"Children of the Light" has guest appearances from both Dillavou and Sonny Sandoval of P.O.D., the former of them adding a reggae/funk sound to the song. "High" is a fun song that has a danceable beat, as well as the following "New Shalom." Both Tedashii and Trip Lee provide vocals on "40 Deep," making the track another of the most memorable moments on Rehab. "God Is Enough" talks of being content only with God, and not coveting other materialistic things. "Boasting" shakes things up a bit, replacing the synths and keys with an acoustic guitar, while "Background" has more of a pop feel to it, and is a song about giving God everything in our lives, and letting Him use us.. "New Reality" and "Release Date" offer up some more mellowness to Rehab. The bonus track, "I Love You," brings the energy back up and is a love song, ending Rehab.

Rating: 9/10 Lecrae's Rehab is not just an album, but a journey for the listener. The spiritually uplifting lyrics are very refreshing to hear, and are accompanied nicely by catchy beats and instrumentation and a slew of guest vocalists. Rehab is Lecrae's defining album, and is hands down some of the best Christian hip-hop I've ever heard, and that is coming from someone who is not a big fan of rap and hip-hop.

  1. Check In
  2. Killa
  3. Divine Intervention ft. J.R.
  4. Just Like You ft. J. Paul
  5. Gotta Know ft. Benjah
  6. Used To Do It Too ft. KB
  7. Children of the Light ft. Sonny Sandoval & Dillavou
  8. High ft. Sho Baraka & Suzy Rock
  9. New Shalom ft. PRo
  10. 40 Deep ft. Tedashii & Trip Lee
  11. Walking On Water
  12. God Is Enough ft. Flame & Jai
  13. Boasting ft. Anthony Evans
  14. Background ft. C-Lite
  15. New Reality ft. Chinua Hawk
  16. Release Date ft. Chris Lee
  17. I Love You ft. Chris Lee (Bonus Track)
(Buy Here)

About the Author

Ali Bajwa
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Facebook dolor quam, pretium eu placerat eu, semper et nunc. Nullam ut turpis dictum, luctus mi quis, luctus lorem. Nullam porttitor consectetur nunc in tempor!

Related Posts