Artist Of The Week - Anchor & Braille

It's been about three years since we've gotten an album from Anchor & Braille, the indie side project of Anberlin's Stephen Christian, but this week, on July 31st, the band's sophomore album will be released. The Quiet Life is a collection of haunting melodies and catchy percussion, certainly a maturation of sound since 2009's Felt. The Quiet Life is available now in stores and online through Tooth & Nail Records.


Christian Rock Rocks - Copyright 2012. Powered by Blogger.


Follow CRR on Twitter

Follow empmag on Twitter


Like CRR on Facebook

Artist: Trip Lee
Album: Between Two Worlds
Release Date: 6/22/10
Label: Reach Records

I'll go ahead and blatantly say that I am not a big fan of rap/hip-hop and probably never will be. However, I do have an exception with a few quality artists, one of which being Trip Lee. The music and beats backing Lee's great vocal delivery is done nearly excellent ranging from mellow jazz rhythms to big string flavored dance beats. Also, accompanying the music are the honest, well written lyrics that deal with how God can get us through the tough moments of life.

Opening up the large bunch of tracks found on Between Two Worlds is "Real Life Music," which offers up more of an R&B sound, along with an interesting mix of strings. It explains who and what Trip Lee performs for, being Jesus Christ. Many guest appearances are found on the album, such as Sho Baraka on "I Love Music." The title is self-explanatory to the lyrical content, which is contained in a fun sound that is perfect for summer. Singer-songwriter Jimmy Needham is also found on the track "Yours To Own," which blends Needham's influential pop and soul elements with jazz instrumentation. Another favorite of mine is "Twisted," featuring an array of guest appearances, in every verse. Among them are rappers Lecrae and Thi'sl, both of which are talented and add to the track. The album ends with the last two tracks, "The Invasion (Hero)" and a bonus track, "My Lord." Both have an upbeat, airy sound to them, ending the album perfectly. Between Two Worlds is for sure one of the best hip-hop albums I have heard, showing that Trip Lee has much potential.

Rating: 8/10 Trip Lee's third studio effort Between Two Worlds seems to have everything you could want from a hip-hop album, well written lyrics, great vocals and upbeat instrumentation are only of few elements of what makes the album a memorable listen.

  1. Real Life Music
  2. Snitch
  3. Invade ft. J. Paul
  4. Prognosis
  5. No Worries
  6. Covenant Eyes ft. PRo
  7. Life 101 ft. Chris Lee
  8. I Love Music ft. Sho Baraka
  9. Limitations ft. Leah Smith
  10. Yours To Own ft. Jimmy Needham
  11. Apathy (Interlude)
  12. Twisted ft. Lecrae, PRo, Thi'sl
  13. Bear With You ft. Tedashii
  14. Show's Over ft. Mitch Parks
  15. The Invasion (Hero) ft. Jai
  16. My Lord (Bonus Track)
(Buy Here)

About the Author

Ali Bajwa
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Facebook dolor quam, pretium eu placerat eu, semper et nunc. Nullam ut turpis dictum, luctus mi quis, luctus lorem. Nullam porttitor consectetur nunc in tempor!

Related Posts


  1. Waiting for this album to come in the mail. I pre-ordered and can't wait. Thank you Reach Records for representing the Lord with such stimulating spirit-filled hip hop music!

  2. just got an email sayin BTW is epected to arrive 2MOROW!!