Artist Of The Week - Anchor & Braille

It's been about three years since we've gotten an album from Anchor & Braille, the indie side project of Anberlin's Stephen Christian, but this week, on July 31st, the band's sophomore album will be released. The Quiet Life is a collection of haunting melodies and catchy percussion, certainly a maturation of sound since 2009's Felt. The Quiet Life is available now in stores and online through Tooth & Nail Records.


Christian Rock Rocks - Copyright 2012. Powered by Blogger.

Follow CRR on Twitter

Follow empmag on Twitter


Like CRR on Facebook

Artist: Jimmy Needham
Album: Nightlights
Release Date: 5/18/10
Label: Inpop Records

Jimmy Needham sure surprised me with his new album Nightlights. A pleasant mix of pop, soul and funk is found on the newest from the singer/songwriter. The music comes across very smooth, accompanied by Needham's delicate vocals, to make the final result a perfect album to relax to, more specifically a great album for spring and summer.

To the music, a funk sound is heard on the opener "Moving To Zion" which tells the story of being raised on virtues such as faith and hope. An already big single under the album's belt is the simple pop tune "Yours To Take." Honest lyrics set to a small set of keys and guitar makes for a song driven by the experience of what it's like to accept Christ, clearly heard in the chorus that says "So this is what it feels like to live life, so this is breathing in for the very first time." The most upbeat track off the album that proves that Needham is not completely focused on a constant sound is the fun "Grace Amazing," which features Trip Lee, who is, yes, the well known Christian rapper. A very upbeat R&B/hip-hop track with a bit of funk thrown in as well makes it an enjoyable listen. Lee's vocal delivery is great which adds a lot to the track as well.

The interesting cover of the well known "How Sweet It Is" comes off as a perfect song for Needham to cover, with good results. Ending with the title track, it turns out not to be a song, but a spoken track. The words that Needham speak hit hard, especially the resounding line that let's the Lord know "Be Thou exalted over my reputation." It's the perfect line to sum up the album and should be applied to our lives as well.

Rating: 9/10 Jimmy Needham's new album Nightlighs comes across as the perfect springtime album, with his honest and refreshing take on music. A sure to be memorable album, Nightlights will come as the year's best pop album to date. Don't get me wrong, Needham has some great talent, which is used to glorify God 110 percent. You couldn't ask for any more than that.

  1. Moving To Zion
  2. Being Small
  3. Yours To Take
  4. The Reason I Sing
  5. Right Where You Are
  6. Steal Away
  7. Part The Clouds
  8. Grace Amazing
  9. How Sweet It Is
  10. Miss A Thing
  11. Just A Heartbeat
  12. Light Of Day
  13. Nightlights
(Buy Here)

About the Author

Ali Bajwa
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Facebook dolor quam, pretium eu placerat eu, semper et nunc. Nullam ut turpis dictum, luctus mi quis, luctus lorem. Nullam porttitor consectetur nunc in tempor!

Related Posts